Goat Milk
Is goat milk suitable for people with lactose intolerance?

Lactose is the name of a specific carbohydrate or sugar of milk. All milk from mammalian species (cows, goats, sheep, and humans) contains lactose, which is the major carbohydrate in the milk of most species.


Often there is confusion about lactose intolerance and it can be incorrectly diagnosed. Sometimes cow milk protein intolerance (CMPI) could be misdiagnosed as lactose intolerance. 


Some people who believe they are lactose intolerant find goat milk an agreeable product. Goat milk contains oligosaccharides similar in structure to human milk oligosaccharides.1 Oligosaccharide concentrations in goat milk from New Zealand are approximately 10 times higher than cow milk.2 These oligosaccharides may influence how lactose is metabolized.


If you are lactose intolerant, do consult your healthcare professional before trying a milk formula containing lactose.


Disclaimer: The information provided in this article is meant purely for educational purposes and may not be used as a substitute for medical diagnosis or treatment. You should seek the advice of your doctor or a qualified healthcare provider before starting any treatment or if you have any questions related to your health, physical fitness or medical condition.



1 Martinez-Ferez et al. 2006; Meyrand et al 2013; Kiskini and Difilippo, 2013; Thum et al 2015

2 Thum et al 2015; Martinez-Ferez et al. 2006; Meyrand et al 2013; Kiskini and Difilippo, 2013